Road Trip 2012, Cuervo, NM

On my recent road trip along interstate 40, I stopped in a ghost town west of Tucumcari, New Mexico. I see it every time I drive the route. This time on my way back to California, I decided to stop and have a look.

In 1901, Cuervo, New Mexico was founded when the Southern Pacific railroad passed through Guadalupe County as an overnight stop. Cuervo is Spanish for crow, and the name is probably derived from a nearby hill. In 1910, the surrounding area was opened to cattle ranching, and the population swelled to 300 in 1930 with the new route 66; but by 1946, Cuervo had dwindled to 150. After interstate 40 replaced 66, including roads and homes through the center of town, the population continued to drop to less than 50 today.

The following are photos of what I found in Cuervo.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Zeros&Ones and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

